Whole30: Week Three (Days 15 – 19)

Whole30: Week Three (Days fifteen – ninteen)

Well, wouldn’t you know that I had planned to blog while we were out of town these four days, but it just wasn’t in the cards for me.

My in-laws live in the country and as such, have satellite internet that wouldn’t even let you check your email, let alone post blogs. My phone service was faster 🙂 So I just pushed the blog aside and just focused on enjoying myself while I was there, and honestly, that’s what I needed to be doing any way. It’ll be easy to sum up this week because all our breakfasts and lunches were the same thing.

For breakfasts, we had these amazing Sausage Egg Muffins from PaleoOMG. It was my favorite meal each day! We made 12 muffins and I bagged them four to a ziploc bag and I could just pull out a bag, throw it on a plate and nuke ’em in the microwave for a minute and a half. Just long enough to slice an avocado and dump out some salsa to go along with it.  Et Voilà!

Stick a fork in it…my attempt at “food styling” HA!

As for lunches, we had our favorite grilled chicken salad with almonds and mandarin oranges every day. However, we bought another new brand of romaine hearts and they were extremely bitter. Which made it hard to eat, at least for me anyway.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Slivered Almonds and Mandarin Oranges

For dinners, I didn’t get a single picture. That time of night was just too hectic and I was either too famished to remember to take a picture before I ate or my camera would be dead, but here’s a breakdown.

Night One: Burgers on Romaine “Buns” w/ Carrot Fries  (Our Burgers consisted of a 1/3 lb patty, tomato, onion, mustard wrapped in romaine, but next time I’ll wrap it iceberg.)

Night Two: Perfect Pot Roast w/ Roasted Green Beans (Our chuck roast was disappointing, I’ve made this recipe before with stellar results but instead of it going in the oven, I transferred it to crock pot for 8 hours on low. It wasn’t terrible but not drool worthy as I remember. Plus the roast dissolved to almost nothing and when I thought I had enough to feed 6 people, I barely had enough for 2.)

Night Three: My favorite night…we went to In and Out Burger for the first time ever! Now I know what you’re thinking, what the heck is OK to eat at In and Out? Well don’t fear! You have a double-double, no cheese, no sauce, with mustard, grilled onions made PROTEIN STYLE! We had to pass on the fries as they are fried in vegetable oil, and OMG was that the hardest thing I had to do this entire time. They looked so fresh, hot, and crispy. It took every ounce of strength to not dump the whole pile into my mouth! I did some labor breathing techniques to help me cope, but I managed OK. It looked a little something like this:

Double-Double, No Cheese, No Sauce, with Mustard, Grilled Onions made Protein Style

Night Four: I made Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore that we’ve had before, and it was delicious as usual! For dessert we had some end of summer watermelon 🙂 It was so deliciously sweet! YUM! Plus it was far tastier while playing in the sprinkler.

Watermelon tastes better while playing in the sprinkler, don’t you think?

Now for all the fun stuff we did!

We played in the sprinkler a lot, but the highlight of our trip was going to Costco! I’ve never experienced Costco before, and that’s what it is…an experience. The closest one to us is an hour and a half away! But we are seriously considering getting a membership and making a once a month trek out there to stock up. The quantity and quality of organic goods is unmatched and worth the drive for us. We found our beloved Wild Planet tuna that we paid $5 a can for at home, for only $2.50 a can there! We got there at 7:00pm  and they closed at 8:30 pm and we still need another good hour or more before we would have finished the whole store! The whole ride back, I kept telling Nate, “I can’t get over how awesome Costco is!”. Nate made a funny remark saying that, “Costco is like the Target of warehouse stores!”. 😀

I also had our homeschool curriculum delivered while we were out there. The nerd in me did a happy dance to open a box full of shiny, new, untouched curriculum! Isn’t it beautiful?

Homeschool Curriculum…and yes, coffee is part of our schools supplies 🙂

We’re just starting out with Kindergarten this year for Pumpkin (5) and Princess (4). I feel as though they can work on the same stuff, but princess will likely want to do less right now given her attention span. For those interested, we are using Horizons K for math, Get Ready, Set, and Go for the Code for phonics, and A Reason for Handwriting K for, well, handwriting duh! We’ll be using God’s Little Explorers for bible and fun stuff 🙂 We never got to finish it last year between being super sick pregnant and moving housees, but all of these are just open and go type stuff and I’m excited to get started! We’ll also be doing lots and lots of reading and library trips!

Also on our week away we made a trip to the Tanger Outlet mall. Which we found nothing but these gaudy and very patriotic sunglasses, that somehow my daughter pulls off well ❤

PDolce and Gabbana got nothing on this girl’s style!

Pumpkin insisted on a picture too, so I obliged. He’s pretty cute if I do say so myself!

My favorite Goober ❤

We finally made it home late Thursday, and seeing as we had no food in the house we stopped at Chipotle for lunch and had carnitas on some salad with pico and guacamole. It was fabulous! However, it wasn’t as fabulous as this:

NY Strip Steak, Sweet Potato, and Green Beans

For dinner it was  NY strip steak, sweet potatoes, and roasted green beans. It was something I could pick up from the store and cook quickly and it was still cheaper than Chipotle 😛

Well, that was our week in a nutshell! Time to plan for our homestretch of Whole30! Still awaiting the Tiger Blood…

Peace, love, and chicken grease,

-C-

Leave a comment